Factoring in Europe

Factoring is a well-established industry in Europe. It plays a key role in providing liquidity to businesses. Factoring allows business to obtain finance with fewer restrictions than other comparable methods of funding. This flexibility helps European businesses to keep growing and competing in local and international markets.

EU Total factoring volume


Description: The total volume of factoring in Millions of Euros across all EU countries by year. In 2018 this equated to €1,727,915,000,000 euros.

EU Factoring as % of GDP


Description: Whilst Europe has continued to grow over this time period with GDP increasing each year, the influence of factoring has continued to grow.

5 largest users of factoring by volume


Description: With all countries in the EU utilising factoring, the top 5 countries of; France, United Kingdom, Italy, Germany and Spain dominated the market place. In 2018 these 5 countries alone accounted for 75% of all factoring with the EU zone.

5 smallest users of factoring by volume


Description: The sum volume for these 5 EU countries (Slovenia, Croatia, Latvia, Malta, Luxembourg) is a tiny proportion of the European Union when it comes to factoring. In 2018 they accounted for just 0.24% of factoring volume within Europe. {NB: There was no factoring data available for Croatia in 2011 & 2012}

Countries Hiveterminal is active in


Description: Hiveterminal is currently only providing factoring services in Slovenia, this means it is only exposed to a very small part of the factoring volume in Europe at: 0. The upside for this is that there is huge growth potential for Hiveterminal. [NB: Amounts are in Millions of Euros]

Further information:

  • Where does this data come from?

    These graphs have been compiled using data from two sources, pordata.pt for GDP data and EU Federation of Factoring and Commercial Finance for factoring information.
  • Which countries are covered?

    The data in these graphs covers all the EU countries; Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom. (It does not include countries in the EEA; Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.)